A company that is apparently located in China has been sending millions of unsolicited email messages advertising products like Viagra, Cialis, Xalatan and other medications. Please be cautioned against purchasing from that website as many consumer reports have given a strong indication that it is not operating in accordance with accepted pharmacy practices in North America and displayed fraudulent information on their website.
First of all a little explanation about why you are seeing the CanadaDrugs.com logo on this website and why we are involved. Well, as part of the marketing strategy of almost all large, online companies, we purchase domains names that we feel are relevant to our business, may have had a competitive business running on it, or people simply may type in because they are curious. Many years ago CanadaDrugs.com bought the domain name abcmeds.com (notice the .COM, not .ORG like in the SPAM email you received) along with thousands of others. It is a practice that is central to most online marketing strategies. What we do in the vast majority of cases is simply point that domain name to our primary website...which is: www.canadadrugs.com.
This sometimes causes us problems and creates confusion among consumers when (just like you) people are sent unsolicited emails that may represent themeselves as being a particular company, but may in fact simply be lying to you. In this particular case, a company in China is operating a website on the website abcmeds.org that is SPAMing people, and according to some anecdotal reports is taking people's money and not sending medications. Since we own abcmeds.com people assume we are connected. We are not. :-)
This page is here to help warn you of potential fraud associated with that domain name and provide information about how you can help put an end to Internet fraud like thisand make the Internet a safer place to shop. An example of email message you likely received is shown below
If you would like to contact the owners of this domain regarding the unsolicited email (SPAM) that you received we have provided the publically available whois record for this domain which details the registrant (owner) and other technical information about the abcmeds.org domain. This information can be found using several online "whois" services, such as http://www.whois.sc/.
Truthfully, this is currently very difficult to put a stop to given that the perpetrators are located in countries where law enforcement tends not to focus on activities like this and where consumer complaints lodged from people outside of the country go largely ignored. However, don't give up. There are a number of professional, dedicated organizations that operate to help raise awareness of fraud like this and educate other consumers before they are affected. Some of them are:
http://www.bbb.org/complaint.asp - "The Better Business Bureau system has made it fast and easy for people to file complaints. We take complaints involving all types of businesses - online, offline, BBB member, non-member. We also accept complaints against charities and non-profit organizations. We primarily handle complaints relating to marketplace transactions, including advertising claims."
http://www.ftc.gov/spam/ - "This website has information about the Federal Trade Commission's recent law enforcement actions against deceptive commercial email and spammers' responsibilities under the CAN-SPAM law. In the "For Consumers" section, you'll find tips on how to reduce the amount of spam email in your in-box.
If you get spam email that you think is deceptive, forward it to spam@uce.gov. The FTC uses the spam stored in this database to pursue law enforcement actions against people who send deceptive email."
http://www.spamcop.com/ - "SpamCop is the premier service for reporting spam. SpamCop determines the origin of unwanted email and reports it to the relevant Internet service providers. By reporting spam, you have a positive impact on the problem. Reporting unsolicited email also helps feed spam filtering systems, including, but not limited to, SpamCop's own service."